GPT-6 Sol
OpenAI · · 12 days after GPT-Live-1
Partially verified
0 of 1 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab2 not researched yet
Why this status
Cited to official documentation and the lab's own announcement. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities recorded as text-to-text. The primary source states the model is text-only.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol (gpt-6-sol) alongside GPT-6 Luna, following GPT-6 Astra: reasoning models that accept text and image inputs and generate text through the Responses and Chat Completions APIs. OpenAI positions Sol for everyday work at lower cost than Astra. OpenAI's announcement page carries no date; the date is the one OpenAI's API changelog states.
Details
| Released | September 22, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | after GPT-5.6 Sol · before GPT-6.1 Sol |
| Released alongside | GPT-6 Luna |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | Not researched |
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 2 of 2 primary
Cited to official documentation and the lab's own announcement. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities recorded as text-to-text. The primary source states the model is text-only.
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
- openai.com Official announcement archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
What changed from GPT-5.6 Sol
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
Not comparable: Context window (not researched on both releases); Parameters (not disclosed for both releases); Modalities (GPT-6 Sol evidences fewer than GPT-5.6 Sol, which means not evidenced rather than removed)
Compare GPT-6 Sol with another model →
See GPT-6 Sol on the interactive timeline →