GPT-4o
OpenAI · · 426 days after GPT-4
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (May 13, 2024) and context window (128,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “GPT-4o (“o” for “omni”) is a step towards much more natural human-computer interaction—it accepts as input any combination of text, audio, and image and generates any com” | audio: “GPT-4o (“o” for “omni”) is a step towards much more natural human-computer interaction—it accepts as input any combination of text, audio, and image and generates any com”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
OpenAI's natively multimodal real-time model with voice conversation, free in ChatGPT.
Details
| Released | May 13, 2024stated in openai.com, developers.openai.comGPT-4o was released on May 13, 2024.
|
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Era | Multimodal & open weights |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image + Audio → Text + Image + Audio |
| Capabilities | Vision, Audio |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 128K tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-4o supports a context window of 128,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $2.5 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
|---|---|
| Output | $10 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 2 of 2 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (May 13, 2024) and context window (128,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “GPT-4o (“o” for “omni”) is a step towards much more natural human-computer interaction—it accepts as input any combination of text, audio, and image and generates any com” | audio: “GPT-4o (“o” for “omni”) is a step towards much more natural human-computer interaction—it accepts as input any combination of text, audio, and image and generates any com”.
- openai.com Official announcement archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
Compare GPT-4o with another model →
See GPT-4o on the interactive timeline →