GPT-5.1
OpenAI · · 43 days after Sora 2
Partially verified
1 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
A five-model refresh of the GPT-5 line, shipped in two waves in November 2025.
Details
| Released | November 12, 2025 |
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | after GPT-5 · before GPT-5.2 |
| Era | Reasoning models |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 400K tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.1 supports a context window of 400,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $1.25 per million tokens observed February 13, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-13) |
|---|---|
| Output | $10 per million tokens observed February 13, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-13) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 1 of 2 primary
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
What changed from GPT-5
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare GPT-5.1 with another model →
See GPT-5.1 on the interactive timeline →