GPT-5.6 Sol
OpenAI · · 77 days after GPT-5.5
Partially verified
1 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Split from the former "gpt-5-6" record, which was named for the family while holding one variant's figures. Evidence: "GPT-5.6 Sol is the frontier model in the GPT-5.6 series." Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
The frontier variant of the GPT-5.6 series.
Details
| Released | July 9, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | before GPT-6 Sol |
| Released alongside | GPT-5.6 Luna · GPT-5.6 Terra |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning, Agentic, Structured output, Function calling |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 1.05M tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.6 Sol supports a context window of 1,050,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $5 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-11) |
|---|---|
| Output | $30 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-11) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 1 of 2 primary
Split from the former "gpt-5-6" record, which was named for the family while holding one variant's figures. Evidence: "GPT-5.6 Sol is the frontier model in the GPT-5.6 series." Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
Compare GPT-5.6 Sol with another model →
See GPT-5.6 Sol on the interactive timeline →