GPT-5.5
OpenAI · · 49 days after GPT-5.4
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 3 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (April 23, 2026) and context window (1,050,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: agentic: “1% - Model capabilities OpenAI is building the global infrastructure for agentic AI, making it possible for people and businesses around the world to get work done with A” | reasoning: “1% Evals of GPT were run with reasoning effort set to xhigh and were conducted in a research environment, which may provide slightly different output from production Chat”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
Codenamed Spud; the mid-cycle step between GPT-5.4 and the GPT-5.6 family.
Details
| Released | April 23, 2026stated in openai.com, developers.openai.comGPT-5.5 was released on April 23, 2026.
|
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | after GPT-5.4 |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning, Agentic |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 1.05M tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.5 supports a context window of 1,050,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $5 per million tokens observed April 24, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-04-24) |
|---|---|
| Output | $30 per million tokens observed April 24, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-04-24) |
Benchmarks
Each row is a dated claim by a named party, not a property of the model. A later revision adds a row rather than replacing one. This project publishes no composite or overall score.
| Benchmark | Score | Reported by | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| OSWorld | 78.7 | Vendor reported | April 23, 2026 |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 2 of 3 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (April 23, 2026) and context window (1,050,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: agentic: “1% - Model capabilities OpenAI is building the global infrastructure for agentic AI, making it possible for people and businesses around the world to get work done with A” | reasoning: “1% Evals of GPT were run with reasoning effort set to xhigh and were conducted in a research environment, which may provide slightly different output from production Chat”.
- openai.com Official announcement archived
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
What changed from GPT-5.4
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
- Capabilities first evidencedagentic
Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare GPT-5.5 with another model →
See GPT-5.5 on the interactive timeline →