GPT-5.3-Codex
OpenAI · · 56 days after GPT-5.2
Partially verified
1 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date and the context window could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities read from OpenAI's own model documentation, which states: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported.” The snapshot cited was moved from 2026-02-16 to 2026-02-26: the earlier capture caught only the page shell before its content rendered, so it evidenced nothing it was cited for. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
A coding-specialised model able to search repositories, run terminal commands and debug, positioned against Claude Opus 4.6.
Details
| Released | February 5, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Agentic, Vision |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 400K tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.3-Codex supports a context window of 400,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $1.75 per million tokens observed February 26, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-26) |
|---|---|
| Output | $14 per million tokens observed February 26, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-26) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 1 of 2 primary
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date and the context window could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Modalities read from OpenAI's own model documentation, which states: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported.” The snapshot cited was moved from 2026-02-16 to 2026-02-26: the earlier capture caught only the page shell before its content rendered, so it evidenced nothing it was cited for. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported”.
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
Compare GPT-5.3-Codex with another model →
See GPT-5.3-Codex on the interactive timeline →