GPT-5
OpenAI · · 2 days after gpt-oss-20b
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (August 7, 2025) and context window (400,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: coding: “GPT‑5 is a significant leap in intelligence over all our previous models, featuring state-of-the-art performance across coding, math, writing, health, visual perception, ” | reasoning: “One unified system GPT‑5 is a unified system with a smart, efficient model that answers most questions, a deeper reasoning model (GPT‑5 thinking) for harder problems, and” | vision: “In our evaluations, GPT‑5 (with thinking) performs better than OpenAI o3 with 50-80% less output tokens across capabilities, including visual reasoning, agentic coding, a”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
OpenAI's unified flagship with integrated reasoning across ChatGPT and the API.
Details
| Released | August 7, 2025stated in openai.com, developers.openai.comGPT-5 was released on August 7, 2025.
|
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | after GPT-4.5 · before GPT-5.1 |
| Era | Reasoning models |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Vision, Reasoning, Coding, Structured output, Function calling |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 400K tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5 supports a context window of 400,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $1.25 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
|---|---|
| Output | $10 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
Benchmarks
Each row is a dated claim by a named party, not a property of the model. A later revision adds a row rather than replacing one. This project publishes no composite or overall score.
| Benchmark | Score | Reported by | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| SWE-bench Verified | 74.9 | Vendor reported | August 7, 2025 |
| Aider Polyglot | 88 | Vendor reported | August 7, 2025 |
| MMMU | 84.2 | Vendor reported | August 7, 2025 |
| AIME | 94.6 | Vendor reported | August 7, 2025 |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 2 of 2 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (August 7, 2025) and context window (400,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: coding: “GPT‑5 is a significant leap in intelligence over all our previous models, featuring state-of-the-art performance across coding, math, writing, health, visual perception, ” | reasoning: “One unified system GPT‑5 is a unified system with a smart, efficient model that answers most questions, a deeper reasoning model (GPT‑5 thinking) for harder problems, and” | vision: “In our evaluations, GPT‑5 (with thinking) performs better than OpenAI o3 with 50-80% less output tokens across capabilities, including visual reasoning, agentic coding, a”.
- openai.com Official announcement archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
What changed from GPT-4.5
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
- Context window128K → 400K
- Capabilities first evidencedreasoning, coding, structured_output, function_calling
Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare GPT-5 with another model →
See GPT-5 on the interactive timeline →