GPT-5.2
OpenAI · · 29 days after GPT-5.1
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (2025-12-11) and context window (400,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
Instant, Thinking and Pro modes, plus a GPT-5.2-Codex variant for coding.
Details
| Released | December 11, 2025stated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.2 was released on December 11, 2025.
|
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | GPT |
| Lineage | after GPT-5.1 · before GPT-5.4 |
| Era | Reasoning models |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 400K tokensstated in developers.openai.comGPT-5.2 supports a context window of 400,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $1.75 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
|---|---|
| Output | $14 per million tokens observed February 10, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-02-10) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 1 of 2 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (2025-12-11) and context window (400,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
GPT family
- GPT-4 March 14, 2023
- GPT-4o May 13, 2024
- GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
- GPT-5 August 7, 2025
- GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
- GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
- GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
- GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
- GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
- GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
- GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
- GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
- GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
- GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026
What changed from GPT-5.1
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare GPT-5.2 with another model →
See GPT-5.2 on the interactive timeline →