GPT-5.6 Terra

OpenAI · · 77 days after GPT-5.5

Partially verified

1 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet

Why this status

Split from the former "gpt-5-6" record, which was named for the family while holding one variant's figures. Evidence: "GPT-5.6 Terra Model — its own model page in OpenAI's API documentation, with its own specifications." Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.

What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?

The third variant of the GPT-5.6 series.

reasoningagenticstructured outputfunction callingmultimodallong-context

Details

ReleasedJuly 9, 2026
CompanyOpenAI
FamilyGPT
Released alongsideGPT-5.6 Luna · GPT-5.6 Sol
EraAgentic systems
TypeLanguage model · LLM
ModalitiesText + Image → Text
CapabilitiesReasoning, Agentic, Structured output, Function calling
WeightsProprietary
LicenceNot applicable — proprietary
Context window1.05M tokens
stated in developers.openai.com

GPT-5.6 Terra supports a context window of 1,050,000 tokens.

ParametersNot disclosed

Pricing

The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.

Input $2 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-13)
Output $12 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-13)

Current information, elsewhere

This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.

Sources

Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 1 of 2 primary

Split from the former "gpt-5-6" record, which was named for the family while holding one variant's figures. Evidence: "GPT-5.6 Terra Model — its own model page in OpenAI's API documentation, with its own specifications." Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.

Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.

GPT family

  1. GPT-4 March 14, 2023
  2. GPT-4o May 13, 2024
  3. GPT-4.5 February 27, 2025
  4. GPT-5 August 7, 2025
  5. GPT-5.1 November 12, 2025
  6. GPT-5.2 December 11, 2025
  7. GPT-5.3-Codex February 5, 2026
  8. GPT-5.4 March 5, 2026
  9. GPT-5.5 April 23, 2026
  10. GPT-5.6 Sol July 9, 2026
  11. GPT-5.6 Luna July 9, 2026
  12. GPT-5.6 Terra July 9, 2026
  13. GPT-5.6-Cyber August 10, 2026
  14. GPT-6 Astra September 3, 2026
  15. GPT-Rosalind September 8, 2026
  16. GPT-6 Sol September 22, 2026
  17. GPT-6 Luna September 22, 2026
  18. GPT-6.1 Sol September 29, 2026

Browse models

Compare GPT-5.6 Terra with another model →
See GPT-5.6 Terra on the interactive timeline →