Gemini 3.6 Flash
Google DeepMind · · 21 days after Nano Banana 2 Lite
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source4 primary sources, 4 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (Jul 21, 2026) and context window (1M) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Inputs Text, Image, Video, Audio, and PDF Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: agentic: “5 Flash-Lite: Built to scale agentic workflows Beyond Flash, we’re also releasing Gemini 3.”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
Google's token-efficient workhorse update with better coding and multimodal performance.
Details
| Released | July 21, 2026stated in blog.google, ai.google.devGemini 3.6 Flash was released on July 21, 2026.
|
|---|---|
| Company | Google DeepMind |
| Family | Gemini |
| Lineage | after Gemini 3.5 Flash · before Gemini 3.7 Flash |
| Released alongside | Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · Small language model |
| Modalities | Text + Image + Video + Audio → Text |
| Capabilities | Agentic, Coding, Reasoning, Function calling, Structured output |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 1.05M tokensstated in blog.google, ai.google.devGemini 3.6 Flash supports a context window of 1,048,576 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $1.5 per million tokens observed August 1, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-08-01) |
|---|---|
| Output | $7.5 per million tokens observed August 1, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-08-01) |
Benchmarks
Each row is a dated claim by a named party, not a property of the model. A later revision adds a row rather than replacing one. This project publishes no composite or overall score.
| Benchmark | Score | Reported by | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| SWE-bench | 54.2 | Vendor reported | July 21, 2026 |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 4 of 4 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (Jul 21, 2026) and context window (1M) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Inputs Text, Image, Video, Audio, and PDF Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: agentic: “5 Flash-Lite: Built to scale agentic workflows Beyond Flash, we’re also releasing Gemini 3.”.
- blog.google Official announcement archived
- ai.google.dev Official documentation archived
- ai.google.dev Official documentation archived
- ai.google.dev Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
Gemini family
- Gemini 1.0 Ultra December 6, 2023
- Gemini 1.0 Pro December 6, 2023
- Gemini 1.0 Nano December 6, 2023
- Gemini 1.5 Pro February 15, 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Flash December 11, 2024
- Gemini 2.5 Pro March 25, 2025
- Gemini 3 Pro November 18, 2025
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite May 7, 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash May 19, 2026
- Gemini 3.6 Flash July 21, 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite July 21, 2026
- Gemini 3.7 Flash August 13, 2026
- Gemini 3.8 Flash September 2, 2026
- Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber September 2, 2026
- Gemini 4 Argon September 30, 2026
What changed from Gemini 3.5 Flash
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
- Capabilities first evidencedcoding
Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare Gemini 3.6 Flash with another model →
See Gemini 3.6 Flash on the interactive timeline →