Gemini 2.5 Pro

Google DeepMind · · 13 days after Gemma 3

Verified

2 of 2 published values traced to a source4 primary sources, 4 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet

Why this status

Every value this record asserts — date (Mar 25, 2025) and context window (1 million) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Inputs Audio, images, video, text, and PDF Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Building on this, we recently introduced our first thinking model, Gemini 2.”.

What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?

The thinking model that led LMArena for months with a one-million-token context.

reasoningfunction callingstructured outputmultimodallong-contextflagship

Details

ReleasedMarch 25, 2025
stated in blog.google

Gemini 2.5 Pro was released on March 25, 2025.

CompanyGoogle DeepMind
FamilyGemini
Lineageafter Gemini 1.5 Pro · before Gemini 3 Pro
EraReasoning models
TypeLanguage model · Reasoning model
ModalitiesAudio + Image + Video + Text → Text
CapabilitiesReasoning, Function calling, Structured output
WeightsProprietary
LicenceNot applicable — proprietary
Context window1.05M tokens
stated in blog.google, ai.google.dev

Gemini 2.5 Pro supports a context window of 1,048,576 tokens.

ParametersNot disclosed

Pricing

The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.

Input $1.25 per million tokens observed November 3, 2025 · archived snapshot (2025-11-03)
Output $10 per million tokens observed November 3, 2025 · archived snapshot (2025-11-03)

Current information, elsewhere

This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.

Sources

Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 4 of 4 primary

Every value this record asserts — date (Mar 25, 2025) and context window (1 million) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Inputs Audio, images, video, text, and PDF Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: reasoning: “Building on this, we recently introduced our first thinking model, Gemini 2.”.

Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.

Gemini family

  1. Gemini 1.0 Ultra December 6, 2023
  2. Gemini 1.0 Pro December 6, 2023
  3. Gemini 1.0 Nano December 6, 2023
  4. Gemini 1.5 Pro February 15, 2024
  5. Gemini 2.0 Flash December 11, 2024
  6. Gemini 2.5 Pro March 25, 2025
  7. Gemini 3 Pro November 18, 2025
  8. Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite May 7, 2026
  9. Gemini 3.5 Flash May 19, 2026
  10. Gemini 3.6 Flash July 21, 2026
  11. Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite July 21, 2026
  12. Gemini 3.7 Flash August 13, 2026
  13. Gemini 3.8 Flash September 2, 2026
  14. Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber September 2, 2026
  15. Gemini 4 Argon September 30, 2026

What changed from Gemini 1.5 Pro

Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.

Not comparable: Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)

Compare them side by side →

Browse models

Compare Gemini 2.5 Pro with another model →
See Gemini 2.5 Pro on the interactive timeline →