Qwen3.8-Max
Alibaba Qwen · · 18 days after Qwen-Image-3.0
Partially verified
0 of 3 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 2 archived1 not researched yet
Why this status
Re-sourced to the lab's own announcement, replacing a news citation. Modalities recorded as text-to-text. No image, audio or video capability appears anywhere in the primary sources, which labs advertise prominently when present. The promised weights were published on 2026-08-08 as Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B and are tracked as their own record.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
A 2.4-trillion-parameter MoE with a 256K context, Alibaba's largest model to date. Served via API; the weights were published five days later as Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B, tracked separately.
Details
| Released | August 3, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Company | Alibaba Qwen |
| Family | Qwen |
| Lineage | after Qwen3.7-Max |
| Released alongside | Qwen3.8-Flash-Next |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 256K tokens |
| Parameters | 2.4T |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: partly verified · confidence 60/100 · 1 of 2 primary
Re-sourced to the lab's own announcement, replacing a news citation. Modalities recorded as text-to-text. No image, audio or video capability appears anywhere in the primary sources, which labs advertise prominently when present. The promised weights were published on 2026-08-08 as Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B and are tracked as their own record.
- qwen.ai Official announcement archived
- marktechpost.com News reporting archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
Qwen family
- Qwen1.5-72B February 4, 2024
- Qwen2-72B June 7, 2024
- Qwen2.5-72B September 19, 2024
- QwQ-32B March 6, 2025
- Qwen3-235B-A22B April 29, 2025
- Qwen3-30B-A3B April 29, 2025
- Qwen3-Coder-480B-A35B-Instruct July 22, 2025
- Qwen3-Max-Thinking January 23, 2026
- Qwen3-Coder-Next February 2, 2026
- Qwen3.5-397B-A17B February 14, 2026
- Qwen3.6-Plus April 2, 2026
- Qwen3.6-35B-A3B April 15, 2026
- Qwen3.6-27B April 21, 2026
- Qwen3.7-Max May 16, 2026
- Qwen3.7-Plus May 21, 2026
- Qwen3.8-Max August 3, 2026
- Qwen3.8-Flash-Next August 3, 2026
- Qwen3.8-27B August 5, 2026
- Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B August 8, 2026
- Qwen3.8-Omni-Flash September 18, 2026
What changed from Qwen3.7-Max
Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.
- Capabilities first evidencedreasoning
Not comparable: Context window (not disclosed for both releases); Parameters (not disclosed for both releases)
Compare Qwen3.8-Max with another model →
See Qwen3.8-Max on the interactive timeline →