Grok 4.5

xAI · · 22 days after Grok Imagine Video 1.5

Verified

2 of 2 published values traced to a source3 primary sources, 3 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet

Why this status

Cited to the lab's own announcement and official documentation. Not verified because the context window could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from.

What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?

xAI's smartest model, its first release after going public and acquiring Cursor. xAI later re-dated its announcement page: the capture archived on 2026-07-08 reads "Jul 8, 2026", and the live page now reads "Jul 16, 2026". A page captured on July 8 was public on July 8, so that date stands; the later one likely reflects wider rollout.

reasoningfunction callingstructured outputcodingagenticmultimodallong-contextflagship

Details

ReleasedJuly 8, 2026
stated in x.ai

Grok 4.5 was released on July 8, 2026.

  • Official announcement Primary read July 8, 2026 x.ai archived
CompanyxAI
FamilyGrok
Lineageafter Grok 4.20 · before Grok 4.6
EraAgentic systems
TypeLanguage model · LLM
ModalitiesText + Image → Text
CapabilitiesReasoning, Function calling, Structured output, Coding, Agentic
WeightsProprietary
LicenceNot applicable — proprietary
Context window500K tokens
stated in docs.x.ai

Grok 4.5 supports a context window of 500,000 tokens.

ParametersNot disclosed

Pricing

The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.

Input $2 per million tokens observed July 8, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-08)
Output $6 per million tokens observed July 8, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-07-08)

Current information, elsewhere

This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.

Sources

Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 3 of 3 primary

Cited to the lab's own announcement and official documentation. Not verified because the context window could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from.

Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.

Grok family

  1. Grok-1 November 3, 2023
  2. Grok 3 February 19, 2025
  3. Grok 4.20 March, 2026
  4. Grok 4.20 Multi-agent March, 2026
  5. Grok 4.5 July 8, 2026
  6. Grok 4.6 August 12, 2026
  7. Grok 4.7 September 21, 2026

What changed from Grok 4.20

Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.

Not comparable: Context window (not disclosed for both releases); Parameters (not disclosed for both releases); Capabilities and modalities (not researched on both releases)

Compare them side by side →

Browse models

Compare Grok 4.5 with another model →
See Grok 4.5 on the interactive timeline →