Claude Fable 5
Anthropic · · 12 days after Claude Opus 4.8
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 3 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: multilingual: “All current Claude models support text and image input, text output, multilingual capabilities, and vision.” | vision: “All current Claude models support text and image input, text output, multilingual capabilities, and vision.”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
Opens the Claude 5 generation. Shares its underlying model with Mythos 5, with additional safeguards for biology, cybersecurity and LLM R&D.
Details
| Released | June 9, 2026stated in platform.claude.comClaude Fable 5 was released on June 9, 2026.
|
|---|---|
| Company | Anthropic |
| Family | Claude |
| Lineage | before Claude Fable 5.1 |
| Released alongside | Claude Mythos 5 |
| Era | Agentic systems |
| Type | Language model · LLM |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Vision, Multilingual, Reasoning, Agentic |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 1M tokensstated in platform.claude.com, platform.claude.comClaude Fable 5 supports a context window of 1,000,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $10 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-08-17) |
|---|---|
| Output | $50 per million tokens observed August 17, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-08-17) |
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 2 of 3 primary
Cited to official documentation. Not verified because the release date could not be found in any cited primary source — the value may be correct, but this dataset cannot yet show where it came from. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: multilingual: “All current Claude models support text and image input, text output, multilingual capabilities, and vision.” | vision: “All current Claude models support text and image input, text output, multilingual capabilities, and vision.”.
- en.wikipedia.org News reporting archived
- platform.claude.com Official documentation archived
- platform.claude.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
Claude family
- Claude 1 March 14, 2023
- Claude 2 July 11, 2023
- Claude 3 Opus March 4, 2024
- Claude 3.5 Sonnet June 21, 2024
- Claude 3.7 Sonnet February 24, 2025
- Claude Opus 4 May 22, 2025
- Claude Sonnet 4.5 September 29, 2025
- Claude Haiku 4.5 October 15, 2025
- Claude Opus 4.5 November 24, 2025
- Claude Opus 4.6 February 5, 2026
- Claude Sonnet 4.6 February 17, 2026
- Claude Opus 4.7 April 16, 2026
- Claude Opus 4.8 May 28, 2026
- Claude Fable 5 June 9, 2026
- Claude Mythos 5 June 9, 2026
- Claude Sonnet 5 June 30, 2026
- Claude Opus 5 July 24, 2026
- Claude Fable 5.1 September 1, 2026
- Claude Mythos 5.1 September 1, 2026
- Claude Opus 5.5 September 22, 2026
- Claude Sonnet 5.5 September 28, 2026
- Claude Haiku 5.5 October 7, 2026
Compare Claude Fable 5 with another model →
See Claude Fable 5 on the interactive timeline →