o1
OpenAI · · 122 days after GPT-4o
Verified
2 of 2 published values traced to a source2 primary sources, 2 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet
Why this status
Every value this record asserts — date (September 12, 2024) and context window (200,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported” | reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?
OpenAI's first reasoning model that thinks before answering, launching the reasoning-model era.
Details
| Released | September 12, 2024stated in openai.com, developers.openai.como1 was released on September 12, 2024.
|
|---|---|
| Company | OpenAI |
| Family | o-series |
| Era | Multimodal & open weights |
| Type | Language model · Reasoning model |
| Modalities | Text + Image → Text |
| Capabilities | Reasoning, Vision |
| Weights | Proprietary |
| Licence | Not applicable — proprietary |
| Context window | 200K tokensstated in developers.openai.como1 supports a context window of 200,000 tokens.
|
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Pricing
The price a lab's own page showed on the day that page was captured. That is what a snapshot can prove; it is not necessarily the launch price, and prices are often cut later. Citing the live pricing page instead would give a number with no date at all.
| Input | $15 per million tokens observed March 20, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-03-20) |
|---|---|
| Output | $60 per million tokens observed March 20, 2026 · archived snapshot (2026-03-20) |
Benchmarks
Each row is a dated claim by a named party, not a property of the model. A later revision adds a row rather than replacing one. This project publishes no composite or overall score.
| Benchmark | Score | Reported by | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| MMMU | 78.2 | Vendor reported | September 12, 2024 |
This release is also a canonical milestone in the history →
Current information, elsewhere
This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.
- Current price and providers OpenRouter ↗
- Current benchmark scores Artificial Analysis ↗
Sources
Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 2 of 2 primary
Every value this record asserts — date (September 12, 2024) and context window (200,000) — was found in an archived primary source, checked 2026-08-10. Parameter count is not recorded, so nothing is claimed about it. Modalities taken from the documentation's own declaration: "Input Text, image Output Text". Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: vision: “Modalities Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported” | reasoning: “Reasoning token support”.
- openai.com Official announcement archived
- developers.openai.com Official documentation archived
Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.
o-series family
- o1 September 12, 2024
Compare o1 with another model →
See o1 on the interactive timeline →