Mistral Large 4

Mistral AI · · 63 days after Shieldstral 1.0 3B

Verified

2 of 2 published values traced to a source1 primary source, 1 archived1 not disclosed by the lab1 not researched yet

Why this status

Newly added. Sources are not archived and no value has been traced to one yet — run `npm run enrich`. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: coding: “Human Evaluation We ran an internal evaluation in which expert annotators across coding, computer-aided design (CAD), finance, mathematics and physics compared Mistral Large 4 with” | agentic: “Mistral Large 4 New Open-weight hybrid instruct-and-reasoning MoE with multimodal input; unifies instruction, reasoning, and agentic capabilities in a single model, state-of-the-ar”.

What these states mean · How records are judged · Has this record changed?

A natively multimodal mixture-of-experts model with 1 trillion total and 52 billion active parameters, released as a public preview API on Mistral Studio. Mistral said it would release the weights by the end of the month; none were public at announcement.

codingagentic

Details

ReleasedOctober 6, 2026
stated in mistral.ai

Mistral Large 4 was released on October 6, 2026.

CompanyMistral AI
FamilyMistral
Lineageafter Mistral Large 3
EraAgentic systems
TypeLanguage model · LLM
ModalitiesNot recorded
CapabilitiesCoding, Agentic
WeightsProprietary
LicenceNot applicable — proprietary
Context windowNot disclosed
Parameters1T
stated in mistral.ai

Mistral Large 4 has 1,000,000,000,000 parameters.

Benchmarks

Each row is a dated claim by a named party, not a property of the model. A later revision adds a row rather than replacing one. This project publishes no composite or overall score.

BenchmarkScoreReported byDate
Terminal-Bench28.3 Vendor reportedOctober 6, 2026

Current information, elsewhere

This record is a historical one: every figure above is traced to a dated primary source. For what is true today — live pricing, current rankings, availability — these are better maintained than anything here could be.

Sources

Record status: verified · confidence 90/100 · 1 of 1 primary

Newly added. Sources are not archived and no value has been traced to one yet — run `npm run enrich`. Capabilities evidenced from the primary sources: coding: “Human Evaluation We ran an internal evaluation in which expert annotators across coding, computer-aided design (CAD), finance, mathematics and physics compared Mistral Large 4 with” | agentic: “Mistral Large 4 New Open-weight hybrid instruct-and-reasoning MoE with multimodal input; unifies instruction, reasoning, and agentic capabilities in a single model, state-of-the-ar”.

Primary means published by the organisation that made the model. Verified records require at least one.

Mistral family

  1. Mistral 7B September 27, 2023
  2. Mistral Large 2 July 24, 2024
  3. Mistral Small 3 January 30, 2025
  4. Mistral Large 3 December 2, 2025
  5. Ministral 3 3B December 2, 2025
  6. Ministral 3 8B December 2, 2025
  7. Ministral 3 14B December 2, 2025
  8. Mistral Small 4 March 16, 2026
  9. Mistral Medium 3.5 May 22, 2026
  10. Shieldstral 1.0 3B August 4, 2026
  11. Mistral Large 4 October 6, 2026

What changed from Mistral Large 3

Compared with the previous release in this series. A field appears only when both records state a value — where one does not, it is listed as uncomparable rather than dropped, because a gap in our research is not a finding about the model.

Not comparable: Context window (not disclosed for both releases); Capabilities and modalities (not researched on both releases)

Compare them side by side →

Browse models

Compare Mistral Large 4 with another model →
See Mistral Large 4 on the interactive timeline →